Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

Recently I saw a recipe for vegetable pancakes and thought I’d give them a whirl for lunch one day. They contained gluten, eggs and dairy. I made them without eggs and gluten then decided to completely change the recipe and make them vegan also. Today I gave them a try and they worked out fine. These are not like fritters in texture. They are like a savoury pancake. Although they are vegan, you could use them as a base for making small blini sized ones if you just want allergy free, and top with a little bit of smoked salmon or whatever takes your fancy. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

220 g vegetables (I used one carrot, a small zucchini (courgette) and some spring onions)

160 g buckwheat flour

200 ml rice milk mixed with 1 teaspoon white vinegar

1 teaspoon gluten free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)

30 g melted dairy-free margarine (I use Nuttelex)

1 teaspoon salt

1 flax egg (4 teaspoons flaxmeal mixed with 40 ml/g hot water)

Optional: Add in 60 g tasty cheese (if not vegan and can have dairy) or add vegan cheese

Method

  1. Using a food processor or thermocooker chop vegetables until they are finely chopped. I used speed 7, 10 seconds on my machine (a Smith and Nobel Kitchen Master).
  2. Add all of the other ingredients and blend together (speed 6, 10 seconds on my machine).
  3. I cooked these on a Kambrook pancake maker which was well greased with olive oil spray for a few minutes each side. I used 1/4 cup of batter for each.

Tips: Ensure that the frypan or pancake maker you are using is very well greased as buckwheat flour tends to stick easily.

Comments on: "Vegetable Pancakes Gluten-free and Vegan" (1)

  1. […] Vegetable Pancakes Gluten-free and Vegan — Make Your Cake and Eat it Too […]

Leave a comment