Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

IMG_1146

I don’t know about anyone else out there in cyberspace but I think that making successful gluten and egg-free bread from scratch has to be one of the most difficult challenges! I have tried recipe after recipe and all I seem to do is end up with yeasty tasting rocks. At long last I have found something to work with. I started with this recipe and then fiddled with it and have found something I can work with. It’s still a work in progress. I’d like to fiddle a little with different flours as a friend of mine cannot have rice, but I thought I’d post the base recipe here. The quantities I’ve put here make about four bread buns, so just double it if you’d like to make more. The bun is heavier than white bread buns and is more like a wholemeal wheat bun to taste, which my son and I like. I will try to experiment with adding more of the starchy tapioca and less of the brown rice/buckwheat to see if it lightens up. Although the original recipe I based it on uses a Thermomix, my recipe doesn’t need a thermocooker. It also doesn’t use yeast or sweetener.

Ingredients

85 g white rice flour

50 g brown rice flour (or buckwheat flour – the picture above is with using buckwheat)

85 g tapioca starch

50 g sorghum flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons gluten-free baking powder

15 g psyllium husk

350 g water

10 g oil (I used olive oil)

Method

  1. Place all dry ingredients into a medium sized mixing bowl and mix well to combine (or sift together).
  2. Add the water and oil and mix together well. The mixture will be quite fluid at this point, but let it sit in the bowl for a few minutes to firm up as the psyllium husk forms a gel in the mix.
  3. Place the mixture evenly into four pie dishes.
  4. Place onto a tray then into a pre-heated oven at 200 C fan-forcedĀ  for about 20-25 minutes (check by looking at the bottom of the buns for doneness).
  5. Allow to cool then slice and eat.

I like to cook these as buns and freeze the ones we don’t eat. They freeze and re-heat well.

Leave a Reply

