Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

So…seeing as I was on the subject of condensed milk tin recipes I thought I may as well post the lemon cheesecake recipe. When I was first married my husband used to rave about his grandma’s cheesecake and how good it was. I asked her one day for the recipe and she just replied, “It’s on the side of the condensed milk tin.” Again, I thought everyone knew this recipe but when I’ve had visitors, particularly from North America, they don’t seem to know of it.  It’s an unbaked recipe and eggless and it’s easy enough to make gluten free too:
Ingredients

1 packet of gluten-free biscuits (I use Leda Arrowroot or Gingernut biscuits which are gluten, egg and dairy-free – a 205 g packet).

90 g butter (melted)

250 g cream cheese

395 g (1 tin) of sweetened condensed milk

85 ml (about 1/3 metric cup) lemon juice (for variation you can use lime juice)

Method

1. Crush the biscuits in a food processor.

2. Add the melted butter and press into a tart dish. Put into the refrigerator to set while you make the filling.

3. Mix the cream cheese with electric mixers until soft.

4. Gradually add the condensed milk and beat until the cheese and milk are well combined with no lumps. I usually scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to be sure that all of the cheese is mixed with the milk.

5. Add the lemon juice and mix well. Pour into the biscuit shell and refrigerate until set.

Leave a Reply

