Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

 

Making thin pancakes (or crepes as they are often known) takes me back to my childhood. My mother didn’t often make a cake as she left the cake making to me, but she did make pancakes. My brother and I would sit at the table and  as quick as she made them we’d add lemon juice and sugar and roll them up. When my egg allergy developed I didn’t think that I’d ever eat pancakes again, but recently I’ve been craving them so out came the different flours and the scales and, with a bit of experimentation, I’ve created a recipe that works. The good news is, it can be free of dairy, gluten and egg at the same time. I usually just make gluten-free and egg-free, but have tested the dairy-free version to be sure it works. Here’s the recipe:
Ingredients

130 grams potato flour

90 grams rice flour

80 grams corn flour (make sure it is corn cornflour!)

30 grams buckwheat flour (despite it’s name, buckwheat is not wheat and contains no gluten)

10 grams (2 teaspoons) Orgran ‘No Egg’ powder (egg replacer) – if using eggs use 2 eggs and reduce the milk volume by 80 ml.

pinch salt

40 ml (2 tablespoons) oil

430 ml milk (use rice milk for dairy-free)

Method

1. Sift dry ingredients together into a bowl.

2. Mix oil with milk and stir into dry ingredients.

3. Mix thoroughly with electric beaters and allow to sit while preparing saucepan.

4. Melt some butter/margarine or Nuttelex (for dairy-free) in the saucepan to coat the bottom.

5. Mix the crepe mixture again with a spoon and pour into a jug. Pour into the middle of the saucepan and swirl around until it is spread thinly over the base of the saucepan.

6. Cook until the bottom is browned then flip over. The cooking usually takes less than half a minute. When the other side is brown put on a warm plate while making the rest.

Tips

1. If the mixture thickens too much on standing, or you like the crepes super thin, add a little more milk to the mixture.

2. I heat the saucepan on full heat initially to get it hot, then reduce the heat to medium. I have an electric ceramic cooktop and a stainless steel frypan. You may be able to use less butter/margarine/Nuttelex with a non-stick surface.

Comments on: "Gluten-free, Egg-free and Dairy-free Pancakes (Crepes)" (2)

  1. When I open your RSS feed it puts up a whole lot of strange characters, is the deal on my end?

  2. Hi Dana, I think the problem must be at your end as I did it from my end and there was no problem. Lesley

Leave a Reply

