Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

Image

I haven’t blogged for ages. It’s not because I haven’t been experimenting with food, I just haven’t had the time to blog about it! Sooo many recipes to try yet so little time!

For ages I’ve been trying to find or create a great gluten-free and egg-free pikelet recipe. If you’re reading this in the USA, you probably are wondering what pikelets are. In the USA you would call them pancakes, but to me pancakes are just thick crepes that you can roll up and eat with lemon and brown sugar. I’ve also been trying to find a good crepe recipe too. The good news is that I’ve had success on both fronts (crepe recipe to come soon).

A lot of the hassle was because I’ve found that the normal gluten-free flours I’m used to using just don’t work well with pikelets or crepes. I’m not sure why, but found that whenever I put the mixture into the frypan, the pikelets would just sit there as a blob and get burnt on the outside without really cooking in the middle. There are some ready-made mixes out there, but many of them have egg powder in them.

The solution is to use a gluten-free flour that contains soy flour. At the Gluten-Free Show in Brisbane this year Melinda from Melinda’s Gluten Free Goodies gave me a free sample of her new gluten-free flour to try. It works a treat with the pikelets. Initially I made the recipe gluten and egg-free, but today also made them gluten, egg and dairy-free in recognition of those who are lactose intolerant or dairy allergic. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

150 g (1 metric cup) Melinda’s Gluten-Free Self Raising Flour*

1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)

40 g (2 tablespoons) caster sugar

5 g (1 teaspoon) Orgran No Egg powder** – if you can eat eggs use 1 egg and reduce the milk volume to 135 ml milk

175 ml milk (for dairy-free use 175 ml of rice milk)

1 teaspoon vinegar

10 g melted butter (for dairy-free use 15 g of Nuttelex***)

Method

1. Sift all of the dry ingredients together.

2. Mix the vinegar and melted butter (Nuttelex) with the milk and add to the dry ingredients.

3. Mix well with a wooden spoon until there are no lumps.

4. Heat a frypan with some butter or Nuttelex until hot. Add spoonfuls of the pikelet mixture. Allow to cook until bubbles form at the surface then flip over to cook the other side.

5. Serve with whatever you like. One of my sons loves them with maple syrup.

Today I made a batch with dairy milk and a batch with the rice milk. I asked my husband to try them to see if he could detect any difference. He said the dairy-free ones were slightly saltier than the dairy ones but otherwise tasted fine.

Tips

1. If the pikelet mixture sits for a while it can thicken. Use a little milk to get it to the right dropping consistency.

2. When using the dairy-free version I found that the mixture did not spread quite as well in the pan so when I flipped them some of the middle came out the sides. Just turn them over quickly again at the end and press down with the spatula to cook these bits. Another trick is to put the lid on when cooking as this helps to cook the inside at the same time as the outside.

Notes on ingredients

*Melinda’s flour isn’t readily available everywhere yet so if you can’t get it use a gluten-free flour that contains soy flour such as the F G Roberts brand. Note that it’s self-raising flour, so if using a plain flour containing soy flour then add 2 teaspoons of gluten-free baking powder.

**Orgran No Egg is available in Coles and IGA supermarkets in Australia. I’ve seen people blog about using it in the USA. I also understand there is a different brand of egg replacer in the USA.

***Nuttelex is a dairy-free margarine/butter substitute

Comments on: "Gluten-free, Egg-free and Dairy-free Pikelets (Pancakes)" (5)

  1. Thank you for this recipe. I made them this morning and my non allergic daughter loved them. My daughter with allergies who is 18 mths wouldn’t even try them. I will definitely be making them again. I used soy milk in the mix cause that is what we had in the house. I also put sliced up banana in the pikelet once the mixture was in the pan.

  2. On making this recipe for the second time I have the whole household eating them. They are yummy!! Thank you!!!!

  3. Lisa, I’m glad that the recipe has worked out well for you! If there’s any other recipe that you’d like as a gluten/egg/dairy free, please let me know and I’ll see what I can do.

  4. Hi Lesley, just visiting this blog again to get your recipe. Hands down the best G/Free Pikelet recipe I’ve used with my Melinda’s SR Flour. Will be making again tomorrow for school lunches and office morning tea. Great job!

  5. Fantastic recipie! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

