Gluten-free and Egg-free Recipes (with some Dairy-free options)

While on the theme of scones I thought that I would have to publish my pumpkin scone recipe. In Australia, whenever you mention pumpkin scones, people seem to automatically think of Lady Flo Bjelke-Petersen  and her famous pumpkin scones. Lady Flo is a former federal senator for Queensland and wife of Sir Joh Bjelke-Petersen who was Premier of Queensland for many years. We lived in Kingaroy for over four years when my husband was teaching and the Bjelke-Petersen property was not far from the town. I met Lady Flo and her daughter when I went to see the movie “Emma” at the local cinema and found them to be very pleasant people.

Although I own Lady Flo’s cookbook, my pumpkin scone recipe is a little different in its ratios. It was given to me by a friend from church while we lived in Kingaroy and I’ve always loved the results. I haven’t cooked it for years and now that I need to exclude gluten and eggs I thought I  would give it a try. The recipe is potentially dairy-free if you use a non-dairy butter/margarine. I use margarine instead of butter as I prefer the softer texture it gives. The recipe requires an egg, which is a pain, but I use an egg-replacer and it does the trick. Apologies for the blurry picture, by the time I realised that the picture was blurry the scones were all eaten so I couldnt’ take another pic.

Ingredients

2 cups gluten-free self raising flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

60 grams (approx 2 oz) margarine (use butter or a non-dairy substitute for dairy-free)

60 grams sugar

1 egg equivalent of egg-replacer (I use a brand called “No Egg” made by Orgran and use 1 teaspoon of egg-replacer powder to 2 tablespoons water) If you can tolerate eggs just use one egg.

1 cup mashed pumpkin

1-2 tablespoons milk (if you need it – this time the mix was moist enough without)

Method

1. Preheat the oven to 230 C/450 F and line a baking tray with baking paper.

2. Prepare the pumpkin first. I like to use Jap (Kent) pumpkin as it is usually a lovely colour of orange which is full of flavour. I peel and cut it up into fairly large chunks and boil in water until it is just tender. Be careful not to overboil or the pumpkin ends up watery. I place the pumpkin into a sieve to drain and then mash with a fork. Make sure the pumpkin is cool before making the scones.

3. Cream the butter and sugar.

4. Add the egg replacer and mashed pumpkin and beat well.

5. Using a knife, gradually incorporate the flour to make a light dough. Use the milk if the mix is a little dry or add a little flour if too wet.

6. Place on a well floured board and pat out to roughly a 2 cm thickness. As for the lemonade scones, a slightly more moist dough is better than a dry one.

7. Dip the scone cutter in flour and cut out the scones.

8. Place on the oven tray and brush with milk. Place the scones close together.

8. Cook in the oven  until lightly browned.

Important Tips

1. The pumpkin should be cold before making the scones.

2. Don’t overcook the pumpkin or the dough will be too wet.

3. I keep my flour in the fridge so that I keep the dough cool until it is cooked.

The Verdict

Can we make them gluten and egg-free? Sure can! There were none left over to see if they freeze well.

Comments on: "Pumpkin Scones Gluten-free Egg-free" (1)

  1. Leticia said:

    Yum!! I am gluten intolerant and my son is allergic to eggs, so i was very excited to find this recipe… and they turned out great. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

